I read a quote today…I’m not sure if I even remember the context, but it made me think about something…

How hard would it be to truly welcome a repentent pedophile back into fellowship within the Church?  Obviously, we are called to forgive and welcome them back.  At first I thought, “Well, it’s easy.  You allow them back in, but you watch them carefully.”  But, then I asked, “What kind of fellowship would people have with them and what kind of fellowship would they have with people if their presence was welcomed with 24/7 watching?  That doesn’t sound like much of a fellowship.  Yet, we are called to be wise as serpents.  So, for me it’s a conundrum.  Either fellowship isn’t truly fellowship or you let down your guard completely.  I guess the best place to start is to be a person and a church that really believes in forgiveness and new birth, and a person and church that speaks openly and honestly about the difficulties with the person and the rest of the body, acknowledging the coming awkwardness, but hellbent on pushing into it.  Any thoughts?

